skip navigation

Full WHSFL schedule for 2019 announced

By Mike Still , 06/19/19, 3:00PM CDT


Game of the Week broadcasts also debut this season, courtesy of

Shad Nkiasi-Nsebwir during the 2018 season with Vincent Massey Collegiate.

The Winnipeg High School Football League (WHSFL) is pleased to release the schedule for the 2019 season.

There has been some movement of teams amoungst the divisions with three new teams joining Division 1, including last year’s CTV Bowl winners the River East Kodiaks. They will be led by Robin Mead – who has been with the program as coach for over a decade, including last season at the junior varsity level. He returns to the varsity coaching ranks to take over from Sean Oleksewycz, who accepted a coaching position on the Manitoba Bisons staff this offseason. 

River East will participate in the Gustafson Conference, along with defending ANAVETS Bowl champion Vincent Massey Collegiate, Sturgeon Heights, Oak Park, Vincent Massey Brandon and Grant Park. 

The other two teams joining Division 1 are the Kelvin Clippers – last year’s CTV Bowl finalists – and the Murdoch MacKay Clansmen. Both squads have previous experience in the WHSFL’s top division, with the latter making it to the finals in 2013. They will be a part of the Potter Conference along with Steinbach, Dakota, Sisler and last year’s ANAVETS Bowl finalist St. Paul’s, . 

Previous Division 1 teams shifting down to Division 2 are Dryden and Garden City. St. Paul’s 2 will not be fielding a team this season. 

The Eagles will be a part of the Vidruk Conference, which also features Miles Mac, Kildonan East, St. Norbert, Crocus Plains and DMCI. 

The Fighting Gophers will be joined in the Bramwell Conference by Portage, Beaver Brae, West Kildonan, St John’s and Elmwood. The latter of those two are both moving up from Division 3 and were the finalists of last year’s CanadInns Bowl which was won by St. John’s. 

Division 3 sees a few other notable changes as well. Moving down will be Neelin, while Springfield Collegiate fields a team for the first time, primarily composed of athletes from the Sunrise Coyotes program. Lorette has unfortunately had to fold their program for 2019. Rounding out the teams are Churchill, Maples, Tec Voc and Fort Frances. 

This season will also be the first with a weekly Broadcast. will be providing live Game of the Week broadcast during the season. The Games of the Week are included in all capitals in the weekly schedule.