Hall of Fame

The Winnipeg High School Football League has entered its 75th season and to commemorate the anniversary, the league will introduce its first Hall Of Fame class on Saturday, Oct. 11, 2008.

What started out as a small group of teams competing in 1933 has grown to 25 teams in three divisions. The divisions are named after outstanding members of the WHSFL community in John Potter, Kas Vidruk and Andy Currie. Growth has seen the league expand to include Kenora, Dryden and Fort Frances from Ontario and Portage la Prairie from Manitoba. Over the course of league play from its beginning in 1933, many outstanding players, coaches and builders have contributed many hours of hard work to get the league to where it is at today.

Each member school has determined their inductees based on the time they have spent in the league and the contributions made by the individual to the school, league and community. The inaugural class will be made up of individuals from the builder, coach and player categories. In the future, outstanding teams will be included in the selection process.



Winnipeg High School Football League Hall of Fame Class 2012

Rick Hudson

Winnipeg High School Football League Hall of Fame Class 2011

 St. John's

Brian Marks

  Winnipeg High School Football League Hall of Fame Class 2010


Ron Gustafson

St. John's

Rube Ludwig

Lou Bernstein

Dr. Norman Hill

Bert Aikens

Kirk Kuppers

Winnipeg High School Football League Hall of Fame Class 2009

Churchill Bulldogs
Bill Madder
Jamie Horne
Bob Sokalski

Crocus Plains Plainsmen
Doug Steeves

Elmwood Giants
John Kororiz
Bill Petrie
Walt McKee
Gordon Bell Panthers
Bob Lawler

Grant Park Pirates
Bob Toogood

Isaac Newton Nor'westers
Bill Drozda
Al Kornberg

Kelvin Clippers
Mike Kachmar
Richard Bracken
Paul Robson

Oak Park Raiders
Gil Bramwell

St. Paul's Crusaders
Eddie Cass
George Depres
Nick Laping

Sisler Spartans
Jack Cameron
Phil Shaman
Larry Marquardson

Manitoba Football Officials Association (MFOA)
Ron Hallock
Richard Pilbeam
Bernie Novak

Winnipeg High School Football League Inaugural Hall of Fame Class 2008

Beaver Brae Broncos
Kyle Koch – player
Pete Fair - coach

Churchill Bulldogs
John Puchniak - coach
Brian Dobie - coach
Bart Evans - player

Daniel McIntyre Maroons
Andy Currie – coach
Gerry Kissack – builder
Dave Donaldson – player
John Potter - coach
Dryden Eagles
Ward Cockriell - coach
Harry McMaster - builder

Elmwood Giants
Lou Mainilla - coach
George Kunyckyj - coach
Terry Hopkinson - builder

Garden City Fighting Gophers
Jeffery Larson - builder
Gordon Bell Panthers
Stan Mikowas - player
Jim Foubister - coach
Ray Ash - player
Bob Wilkes - player/coach

Grant Park Pirates
Gord Patterson - player
Dennis Hrycaiko - player

Kelvin Clippers
Harry Hood - player
Scott Coe - player
Paul Normandeau - coach

Maples Marauders
Doug Krochak - builder
Walter Krochak - builder
Hannes Boundy - coach

Miles MacDonell Buckeyes
Brandon Jordan - player

Oak Park Raiders
Cory Hucklack - player
River East Kodiaks
Gord Puttaert - coach

St. John's Tigers
Graham Kinley - coach
Chris Walby - player

St. Paul's Crusaders
Father Barry Connolly SJ - builder
Laurent Desjardins - coach
Ron Latourelle - player
Sisler Spartans
Frank Bryan - coach
Chuck Michalski - player
Bob Keating - player

Sturgeon Heights Huskies
John Proudfoot - builder
Jim Morgan - coach
Wade Miller - player

Tec Voc Hornets
Jerry Novak - player
David Shoup - player
Chris Bochen - player

Winnipeg School Division
Kas Vidruk - builder
Arnie Taylor - coach
Bob Whitlaw - player

Special thanks to K. Rech from Sisler's Web Development Class for designing the WHSFL Hall Of Fame Logo